Visit to Martin’s Harness Shop near Dayton, VA

While in Harrisonburg, VA, my dad took us to Lewis Martin’s Harness Shop near Dayton, VA.  Lewis is an Old Order Mennonite man who makes things related to the use of horses for pulling buggies or plows.  His shop smells of leather and there are strips and pieces of leather everywhere, along with all kinds of buckles, saddle soap, neck collars, work collars, harnesses, and a really old cash register.  Lewis told us that most Old Order Mennonites who live around Dayton use electricity these days, although they still use horses for transportation and field work.  I took a few photos of an Old Order Mennonite school and church that are near the Harness Shop.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Joanna Masingila

I'm a member of the world community who wears the hats of woman, wife, mother, friend, follower of Christ, professor, mathematics teacher educator, and researcher while working for peace, justice and understanding among people in the world.
This entry was posted in Small town Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Visit to Martin’s Harness Shop near Dayton, VA

  1. Eugenio Martin Cuenca says:

    Dear Joanna, I write from Spain.
    Can you help me ? I need contac with Lewis Martin
    I am very interested buy their book Making Harness, but is out of stok.
    Could you please send me the e-mail of Lewis Martin or any form to contact.
    Many thanks in advance, sincerely yours.
    Eugenio Martin Cuenca
    Spain
    email: emartin@ugr.es
    Tlf. +34 607503326

Leave a comment